Issue 3July 2019

A round-up from our inaugural Junior Doctors' Awards

Joe Quinn was the hero of the night at our first Junior Doctors' Awards after scooping armfuls of certificates, trophies - and even a Golden Buzzer!

Organisers had to create the extra award - mirroring the Britain's Got Talent TV show - to recognise the amazing fact that Joe was nominated in every single category - sometimes twice - and by nine different colleagues.

Here are all the categories and winners:

In the Compassionate Care category the judges were looking for doctors who view the patient as the centre of everything, demonstrating this through their working practices.

Mohammad Haris won with Kathryn Astbury and Rachael Johnson also shortlisted.


For Rewarding Excellence in Research and Audit judges were looking for application of research and audit to imporve patient outcomes and transform practice.

Alexios Dosis won with Amy Lindh and a team of Chin Heng, David Young, Joe Quinn and Basam Ali were also shortlisted.


For Clinical Leadership the judges were looking for a strong leadership ethos, evidence of personal development through innovative practice and a commitment and enthusiasm for QI.

Francesco Palazzo was the winner with Joe Quinn, Megan Atkingson and Louise Finn also shortlisted.


For Medical Education the judges were looking for a commitment to teaching and an enthusiasm for sharing best practice. Using innovative ways of delivering medical education.

Jessica Gray won with Alyshea Hodgson and Rushana Raza also shortlisted.


In the Junior Doctors' Choice the judges were looking for a supervisor who provides support, encouragement and inspires our doctors in training to learn. Someone who helps facilitate career development and academic achievement. A good team player who leads by example.

Acute Medicine Consultant Alex Hashimi won with consultants Arin Saha and Abhijit Chakroborty also shortlisted.


In Going Above and Beyond (the Call of Duty) the judges were looking for doctors in training who go the extra mile for their patients and their colleagues.

Camilla Ledgard won this award. Mohsin Gondal and Rachael Johnson were also nominated.

Share this story

Return to Issue

Vanessa Henderson is our Membership and Engagement manager.

Contact her on 01484 347342 or email her at
This newsletter has been compiled jointly by the Membership Office and the Trust’s Communications team.